Mining Incidents
Bolivia · Country record

The mining record of Bolivia

19,142
gazette filings since 2016
6,331
named applicants
2,359
of them cooperatives
245
press-reported deaths (a floor)

19,142 filings in AJAM's gazette índices from 2016 to October 2026, by 6,331 named applicants, 2,359 of them cooperatives; at least 245 mining deaths reported in the press.

Bolivia's cadastre lives behind a login, so this page reads the one public trace: the índice AJAM posts every month with every filing the Gaceta Nacional Minera carried, by department and act, from a cooperative's application to a company's registered contract. It is a log of filings, not a list of who holds what. The deaths come from the press: El Potosí keeps a running police count for Potosí department alone that is larger than the labour ministry's national figure for every industry, because a cooperative socio has no employer to report the accident.

Looking for US mine enforcement instead? See MSHA violations by operator. · Peru's record · Chile's record · Argentina's record

Get each new Mining Incidents research note by email. One email per note.

What Bolivia publishes, and what this page reads
AJAM · Gaceta Nacional Minera índices
19,142
filings
ⓘ One line of an índice table: a filing the gazette published that month under an act (an application proceeding, a rejection, a withdrawal, a registered contract...). The same mining area appears again at each stage.
11,362
with a código único
ⓘ The 7-digit código único identifies the mining area in AJAM's cadastre; rejection, withdrawal and extinction tables print the resolution number instead.
150
monthly índices read
175
filings in October 2026

150 índices read, from 2016 to October 2026 (Gaceta Nº 10 of Oct 11, 2026), naming 6,331 applicants, 2,359 of them cooperatives (last read Oct 17, 2026). Every filing is kept, so the same mining area appears at each stage of its procedure; the cadastre that says who holds it today is not public.

Press · mining deaths, a floor
245
deaths, press floor
ⓘ Counted from press headlines only; no Bolivian body publishes a per-fatality mining record, so the true number is undoubtedly higher.
278
press-reported accidents
22
cooperative or informal
ⓘ Events the headline itself places in a cooperative working, an informal or illegal site, or the Cerro Rico's shafts, as against a company's or COMIBOL's operation.
641
headlines read

Spanish-language headlines from Bolivia's press from 2012 to Oct 27, 2026, read daily through Google News' Bolivian edition (last pull Nov 4, 2026) and classified by a language model against the headline's own words. El Potosí's running FELCC count and La Patria's Oruro coverage carry most of it.

Ministerio de Trabajo · fatal work accidents, 2024
79
fatal accidents, every sector, 2024
ⓘ The labour ministry's Boletín Estadístico counts Formularios de Denuncia de Accidente de Trabajo, which an EMPLOYER files for an employee. Every economic activity, no sector split. A cooperative miner is a socio, not an employee, so their death is outside this series.
245
mining deaths in the press
Department Official, every sector Mining, press floor
Potosí 30 97
La Paz 25 12
Oruro 10 10
Santa Cruz 7 0
Cochabamba 5 0
Beni 1 0
Tarija 1 0

The two columns are not the same thing and the page never adds them: the official figure is every industry's employer-reported deaths, the press floor is mining deaths the headlines name. Potosí's press count alone passes the national official total.

What INHGEOMIN withholds

AJAM grants and extinguishes mining rights and publishes no inspections, accidents or sanctions; the labour ministry inspects under the 1979 Ley General de Higiene y Seguridad and publishes department totals once a year; the police and the Potosí prosecutor count mine deaths and publish nothing. No Bolivian body publishes a per-fatality mining record.

No request has been filed: Bolivia has no general access-to-information law and every request form demands a Bolivian cédula, so a request to the labour ministry, AJAM or the Potosí prosecutor needs a Bolivian requester.

Latest press-reported accidents
reported Oct 27, 2026 gas operation not stated
Huanuni · Huanuni, Oruro
3 killed

“Tres presuntos ladrones de mineral mueren por intoxicación en mina de Huanuni”

Red Uno →

reported Oct 27, 2026 gas operation not stated
Huanuni · Huanuni, Oruro
3 killed

“Tres presuntos ladrones de mineral mueren por intoxicación en mina de Huanuni”

Correo del Sur →

reported Oct 26, 2026 unspecified cooperative or informal working
Huanuni · Huanuni, Oruro
2 killed

“Hallan otros dos cadáveres en Huanuni, suman tres los ‘jukus’ muertos en una mina”

El Deber →

reported Oct 19, 2026 unspecified operation not stated

“Las muertes en mina llegan a 127 y superan toda la cifra del 2025”

El Potosí →

reported Oct 19, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Potosí
2 killed

“Potosí: Dos jóvenes mueren en una mina y los decesos llegan a 127 superando la cifra del 2025”

ANF Agencia de Noticias Fides Bolivia →

reported Oct 16, 2026 gas operation not stated
1 killed

“Joven minero muere por gases tóxicos y eleva a 126 las víctimas del año”

El Potosí →

reported Oct 16, 2026 gas operation not stated
Potosí
1 killed

“Potosí: Joven minero muere por gases tóxicos y eleva a 126 las víctimas del año”

eju.tv →

reported Oct 16, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Potosí
1 killed

“Muerte de joven minero eleva a 126 fallecidos en lo que va del año”

La Patria Bolivia →

reported Oct 15, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Potosí

“Fiscalia anuncia investigación por muertes en mina en Potosí”

El Potosí →

reported Oct 12, 2026 gas operation not stated

“Inhalación de gases tóxicos eleva a 125 muertos en mina”

El Potosí →

reported Oct 10, 2026 gas operation not stated
Potosí
2 killed

“Dos mineros mueren intoxicados y la cifra de víctimas en las minas de Potosí se eleva a 125”

eju.tv →

reported Oct 10, 2026 gas operation not stated
Potosí
2 killed

“Dos mineros mueren intoxicados y la cifra de víctimas en las minas de Potosí se eleva a 125”

Visión 360 →

Every event is one press item read by a language model: the sentence shown is the headline's own words, the applicant link exists only where the headline names an applicant in the gazette log, and the count is a floor.

The filings by act
Act Filings Applicants Last 24 months
application proceeding 8,798 5,283 2,601
rejection 3,342 4 807
withdrawal 2,261 7 689
adecuación (conversion of a pre-2014 right) 1,890 348 683
renunciation 673 30 105
administrative mining contract 600 440 138
contract application 469 250 0
lapse (perención) 463 8 189
prospecting and exploration licence 332 234 120
extinction 112 14 55
as printed (outside the vocabulary) 45 2 38
contract extension 19 9 2
temporary continuity (COMIBOL) 18 1 0
term expired 17 13 17
rectification 16 14 0
revocation 15 12 15
judicial decision 11 8 7
grid squares excluded 11 0 11
denial 10 0 0
update of an act 8 8 0
material impossibility 6 0 4
modification 5 0 0
annulment 4 0 1
presumed renunciation 4 2 3
right restored 3 3 1
restitution 2 1 0
nationalised area 1 1 0
cancellation 1 0 0
area enabled 1 0 0
appeal 1 0 0
planimetric annex 1 1 0
reserve restriction 1 0 0
reversion to the state 1 0 0
suspension 1 0 0

The act is the section title the índice prints, mapped to a family: an application proceeding (prosecución) is a request in progress; a registered contract (registro minero) is a right the authority recorded; a rejection, withdrawal, lapse or renunciation ends one. A title outside the parser's vocabulary is kept as printed and marked unmapped.

By departmental or regional directorate
Directorate Filings Applicants Deaths (floor)
La Paz 7,662 2,826 108
Tupiza - Tarija 3,432 1,199 96
Potosí - Chuquisaca 1,936 807 193
Santa Cruz 1,717 464 96
Cochabamba 1,521 543 96
Potosí 813 405 193
Oruro 769 268 106
Chuquisaca 310 125 96
Potosí, Oruro 0 0 207
Huanuni 0 0 105
Caracoles 0 0 102
Sorata 0 0 102
Quime 0 0 99
Colquiri 0 0 98

AJAM files by departmental directorate (La Paz, Oruro, Potosí, Cochabamba, Santa Cruz) and by two regional ones (Potosí - Chuquisaca, Tupiza - Tarija). Press deaths are counted under the directorate whose name carries the department the headline names; most fall in Potosí.

Applicants with the most on record
Applicant Filings Last 24 months Press accidents Directorates Last gazette
CORPORACIÓN MINERA DE BOLIVIA - COMIBOL 125 30 0 La Paz; Oruro; Potosí; Potosí - Chuquisaca; Santa Cruz; Tupiza - Tarija October 2025
COMIBOL 32 32 0 La Paz; Oruro; Santa Cruz August 2026
EMPRESA MINERA & CONSTRUCTORA BOMBORI S.R.L. 56 15 0 Chuquisaca; La Paz; Oruro; Potosí; Potosí - Chuquisaca; Tupiza - Tarija September 2026
EMPRESA MINERA "MAKHAIRA" BOLIVIA S.R.L. 13 13 0 La Paz October 2026
EMPRESA MINERA RESILIENTE S.R.L. 12 11 0 La Paz May 2026
EMPRESA MINERA PUTUKO S.R.L. 11 11 0 Tupiza - Tarija February 2026
ESPECIALISTAS EN MINERALES CALIZOS S.A. 24 9 0 Cochabamba; La Paz; Oruro; Santa Cruz; Tupiza - Tarija June 2026
AOC MINING CO. 10 10 0 Oruro; Potosí; Tupiza - Tarija March 2026
PALMAM ACIRU S.R.L. 10 10 0 La Paz August 2026
EMPRESA MINERA DIAMANTE DE LOS ANDES S.R.L. 10 9 0 Potosí; Tupiza - Tarija June 2026
MARIROS MINING 10 9 0 Santa Cruz September 2026
EMPRESA MINERA ORTIZSOL S.R.L. 15 8 0 La Paz October 2026
EMPRESA MINERA FLORESRODRIGUEZ S.R.L. 13 8 0 Tupiza - Tarija January 2026
COOPERATIVA MINERA "NUEVA CALAMARCA" R.L. cooperative 8 8 0 Potosí April 2026
CORPORACION MINERA DE BOLIVIA (COMIBOL) 8 8 0 Santa Cruz May 2026
EMPRESA MINERA MEMISA S.A. 8 8 0 La Paz; Tupiza - Tarija June 2026
EMPRESA MINERA SIPOTENDI S.R.L. 8 8 0 Chuquisaca September 2026
EMPRESA MINERA GRAN MISTERIO S.R.L. 16 7 0 Potosí - Chuquisaca; Tupiza - Tarija March 2026
TEKOMBOE S.R.L. 10 7 0 Cochabamba; La Paz; Oruro; Potosí - Chuquisaca; Tupiza - Tarija October 2026
FANY ROSARIO SOLIZ MEDRANO 8 7 0 La Paz August 2026
JORGE JORGE CHAJTUR GUTIERREZ 8 7 0 Santa Cruz May 2026
CEMARLU S.R.L. 7 7 0 Santa Cruz December 2025
COOPERATIVA MINERA "AYLLU PALACIO TAMBO" R.L. cooperative 17 6 0 Chuquisaca; Potosí - Chuquisaca July 2026
EMPRESA MINERA 168 S.R.L. 7 7 0 Potosí; Tupiza - Tarija December 2025
EMPRESA MINERA CRUPO FEX S.R.L. 7 7 0 Tupiza - Tarija October 2026
EMPRESA MINERA ESCARTWENT S.R.L. 7 7 0 Potosí; Tupiza - Tarija October 2026
MINERA BURDINA S.R.L. 7 7 0 La Paz; Oruro October 2026
MYCELIUM MINERALS BOLIVIA MMB S.R.L. 7 7 0 Santa Cruz February 2026
RONALD CARRASCO SEQUEIROS 7 7 0 Chuquisaca; Potosí; Tupiza - Tarija October 2026
SOMINKOR S.R.L. 11 6 0 Potosí September 2025

Ranked by press events, filings in the last 24 months and filings overall. Every applicant has a page; this table shows the top of the ranking. An applicant is named as the índice spells it, so one cooperative with two spellings is two rows.

Índices read
Month Gazette Filings Read
October 2026 Índice Nº 10 · Oct 11, 2026 → 175 read
September 2026 Índice Nº 8 · Sep 29, 2026 → 47 read
September 2026 Índice Nº 9 · Sep 29, 2026 → 46 read
September 2026 Índice Nº 9 · Sep 6, 2026 → 150 read
August 2026 Índice Nº 8 · Aug 9, 2026 → 146 read
August 2026 PDF → 0 read
July 2026 Índice Nº 5 · Jul 28, 2026 → 82 read
July 2026 Índice Nº 7 · Jul 5, 2026 → 149 read
June 2026 Índice Nº 4 · Jun 30, 2026 → 76 read
June 2026 Índice Nº 3 · Jun 16, 2026 → 128 read
June 2026 Índice Nº 6 · Jun 7, 2026 → 148 read, unmapped titles
May 2026 Índice Nº 5 · May 10, 2026 → 199 read

163 PDFs read from AJAM's gazette page: 145 read in full, 6 with a section title or department outside it (their rows are kept, marked unmapped), 9 refused because the page layout or the font defeated the parser (no rows written), 3 scanned images with no text. A file that cannot be read is flagged for review.

Sources

Autoridad Jurisdiccional Administrativa Minera (AJAM), Dirección de Catastro y Cuadriculado Minero, Gaceta Nacional Minera, índices mensuales (PDF), 2016 to date: 19,142 records, fetched Oct 17, 2026. →

The índices are read from AJAM's PDFs. The cadastre (SINCOBOL), the patent and the mineral-trade registers are login-gated and are not read.