Mining Incidents
Dominican Republic · Country record

The mining record of the Dominican Republic

103
exploitation concessions in force
339
titleholders
6,163
mining claims 2017-2026
80
press-reported deaths (a floor)

103 exploitation and 64 exploration concessions in force and 241 active mining claims held by 339 named titleholders in the Dirección General de Minería's cadastre, 6,163 claims traced through the 2017-2026 change log, and at least 80 mining deaths reported by the Dominican press.

The Dirección General de Minería serves its whole cadastre on an open map service: three metallic exploitation concessions (Cerro de Maimón, Falcondo's two nickel titles), a hundred non-metallic ones, the exploration titles and applications behind them, the mining claims (denuncias) and the fiscal and artisanal reserves, each with its titleholder, commodities, dates and area. The country's largest mine, Pueblo Viejo, is not in it. No Dominican mining dataset carries an RNC, the tax id, so holders are matched by name only. What no agency publishes is an inspection, a sanction or an accident record: the Ministerio de Energía y Minas posts a statement when miners die, names the dead and the municipality, and names no mine, because almost every Dominican mining death is in an informal amber or larimar working. The deaths here come from Spanish-language press, so every count is a floor.

Looking for US mine enforcement instead? See MSHA violations by operator. · Peru's mining record · Colombia's record · Ecuador's record

Get each new Mining Incidents research note by email. One email per note.

What the Dominican Republic publishes, and what this page reads
DGM · live cadastre (FlexiCadastre)
103
exploitation concessions
ⓘ An exploitation concession (concesión de explotación) under Ley 146-71 is the right to mine; the cadastre's Otorgado and Vigente statuses mean it is in force.
64
exploration concessions
497
applications
241
active claims
ⓘ A denuncia minera is the mining claim that precedes a concession; the DGM keeps active, in-process and inactive claims as three layers.
558
inactive rights
304,592 ha
concession area in force

1,474 rights across the cadastre's fifteen layers, synced weekly from the DGM's ArcGIS map service (last refreshed Nov 2, 2026). 339 named titleholders, as the cadastre spells them.

DGM · mining claims change log 2017-2026
6,163
claims traced
ⓘ A distinct claim code in the DGM's 2017-2026 change log; each claim appears once per status change (Solicitud, then Otorgada).
4,801
grants
11,103
status changes

Every status change of a mining claim (denuncia) from 2018 to 2025, 428 titleholders, from the DGM's open-data CSV on datos.gob.do (last refreshed Nov 2, 2026). Claims only; concessions have no published change log.

Press · mining deaths, a floor
80
deaths, press floor
ⓘ Counted from press headlines only; the Dominican Republic publishes no official per-fatality mining record, so the true number is undoubtedly higher.
210
press-reported accidents
11
artisanal or informal
ⓘ Events the headline itself places in an informal, artisanal or unlicensed working, most of them amber diggings in Hato Mayor and Santiago or larimar shafts in Barahona.
437
headlines read

Spanish-language headlines naming Dominican places from 2009 to Oct 23, 2026, read daily through Google News (last pull Nov 4, 2026) and classified by a language model against the headline's own words.

Pueblo Viejo · not in the cadastre

Barrick's Pueblo Viejo, the country's largest mine and one of the largest gold mines in the Americas, operates under a special lease of state mining rights (the former Rosario Dominicana holdings) rather than a concession, so the cadastre never lists it. A page built from the cadastre alone would omit it.

The Pueblo Viejo Dominicana Corporation page, with what the public record holds

Inspections, sanctions and accidents · none published

The DGM inspects mines and MEM offers mine-safety advice as a public service, but neither publishes an inspection report, a sanction or an accident record; the Ministerio de Trabajo publishes no inspections; IDOPPRIL's work-accident register carries no employer or sector, so it cannot be filtered to mining; the Ministerio de Medio Ambiente's quarry sanctions exist only as press releases. One request under Ley 200-04 was filed with the DGM on September 17, 2026 for its mine-inspection reports and the accident notifications operators file with its Dirección de Seguridad y Salud Minera, 2015 to date, with mine, operator, date and outcome; the answer is awaited.

Filed September 17, 2026 by email to the DGM's access-to-information office, because the SAIP portal needs a Dominican cédula. Ticket number and answer date appear here when assigned.

Latest press-reported accidents
Oct 23, 2026 electrical operation not stated
mina de la piedra Larimar · Bar (Larimar)
1 killed

“Muere electrocutado un obrero en la mina de la piedra Larimar en la costa de Bar”

El Caribe →

Oct 23, 2026 unspecified artisanal or informal
(larimar)
1 killed

“Una nueva muerte en las minas de larimar reaviva preocupación por la seguridad”

Diario Libre →

Oct 22, 2026 electrical artisanal or informal
Barahona (larimar)
1 killed

“Hombre muere electrocutado mientras trabajaba en un hoyo de larimar en Barahona”

CDN →

Apr 23, 2026 collapse artisanal or informal
Bahoruco (larimar)
1 killed

“Fallece haitiano tras quedar atrapado en hoyo de extracción de larimar en Bahoruco”

CDN →

Apr 23, 2026 collapse artisanal or informal
Bahoruco (larimar)
1 killed

“Haitiano muere al quedar atrapado en hoyo de extracción de larimar en Bahoruco”

El Nuevo Diario →

Jan 29, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Sosúa
2 killed

“Sepultan a padre e hijo fallecidos en mina de Sosúa”

Remolacha →

Jan 28, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
3 killed

“Cuando el sustento se vuelve mortal: tres mineros muertos en menos de dos semanas”

Diario Libre →

Jan 23, 2026 unspecified artisanal or informal
Nigua
1 killed

“Denuncian que mina en Nigua donde murió trabajador operaba sin permisos”

Diario Libre →

Jan 23, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
1 killed

“Eloy murió sin cumplir una repetida promesa a su esposa: dejar la mina cuando construyeran su casa”

Diario Libre →

Jan 23, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Nigua
1 killed

“Muere Eloy Peña en colapso de mina en Nigua; su cuerpo fue recuperado tras 12 horas”

El Nacional — La voz de todos →

Jan 22, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Nigua
1 killed

“Derrumbe en mina de Nigua deja un hombre fallecido”

El Nuevo Diario →

Jan 22, 2026 collapse operation not stated
San Cristóbal
1 killed

“Hombre muere tras quedar sepultado en derrumbe en mina de San Cristóbal”

El Nacional — La voz de todos →

Every event is one press item read by a language model: the sentence shown is the headline's own words, the operator link exists only where the headline names a cadastre titleholder exactly, and most Dominican mining deaths are in informal amber or larimar workings that have no operator to name.

The cadastre by kind of right
Kind Rights Granted Holders Hectares
Exploitation concessions 103 103 76 133,410
Exploration concessions 64 64 34 171,182
Exploitation applications 93 0 74 96,253
Exploration applications 313 0 138 580,917
Active mining claims 241 241 30 299,788
Mining claims in process 91 0 12 112,891
Inactive exploitation rights 25 0 24 45,450
Inactive exploration rights 292 0 103 593,927
Inactive mining claims 241 241 30 299,788
Fiscal mining reserves 3 3 1 26,870
Artisanal mining reserves 8 8 0 29,422

The fifteen layers of the DGM's map service grouped by what they hold: concessions in force, applications in review, active claims, inactive rights the cadastre keeps, and the two kinds of reserve. Granted counts Otorgado and Vigente.

Commodities on granted rights
Commodity Granted rights Holders
Caliza 196 73
Cobre 83 22
Oro 83 22
Plata 83 22
Zinc 80 20
Basalto 57 7
Plomo 57 11
Níquel 34 4
Arcillas 28 16
Carbonato de Calcio 25 8
Mármol 14 10
Caliza Coralina 11 10
Sílice 11 7
Yeso 10 9

Each commodity the cadastre names on a concession or active claim in force, counted once per right; a right naming four commodities counts under each.

Mining claims by province, 2017-2026
Province Claims Granted Holders Deaths (floor)
LA ALTAGRACIA 761 617 104 0
BARAHONA 494 381 74 38
PEDERNALES 418 370 37 0
MONTE PLATA 405 293 71 0
SAMANÁ 400 330 48 0
BAORUCO 348 341 29 0
EL SEIBO 336 242 59 0
HATO MAYOR 282 161 25 4
PERAVIA 210 139 38 0
PEDERNALES, BARAHONA 198 155 23 0
SAN JUAN 194 144 37 0
SANCHEZ RAMÍREZ 146 124 50 0
ESPAILLAT 117 80 19 0
SAN PEDRO DE MACORÍS 116 82 47 0
LA VEGA 112 105 23 1
MONSEÑOR NOUEL 104 76 20 0
PUERTO PLATA 101 80 30 1
HATO MAYOR, EL SEIBO 89 68 25 0
MARÍA TRINIDAD SÁNCHEZ 77 52 10 0
DAJABÓN 73 48 10 0

From the claims change log, which is the only Dominican mining dataset that names a province: distinct claims and titleholders per province, and press deaths by the province in the headline. The cadastre itself carries no province.

Titleholders with the most on record
Holder Granted Rights Claims Press accidents Commodities
Cormidom 0 0 1 28
SOCRATES GRULLÓN SOTO 38 51 320 0 Caliza, Cobre, Níquel, Oro, Plata, Plomo, Zinc, Cobre, Oro, Plata, Zinc
CAMILO ALBERTO HOLGUIN MEDINA 56 70 164 0 Basalto
MELQUISEDEC CORCINO PAYANO 0 0 296 0
ALBERTO ENRIQUE HOLGUÍN CRUZ 22 22 194 0 Caliza
ESTERLING RADAMES MEDRANO 38 38 162 0 Caliza, Cobre, Oro, Plata, Zinc, Mármol, Rocas Volcánicas
ELÍAS FELIPE CIPRIAN GÓMEZ MARTÍNEZ 0 0 237 0
CESAR ALBERTO HOLGUÍN CRUZ 0 0 184 0
OSCAR ATOCHE NUÑEZ CABREJA 0 0 195 0
Edgar Enrique Holguín Medina 0 0 152 0
LUCY ANTONIA MARTINEZ DE MELO 0 0 157 0
PEDRO MARTIN ACOSTA FIGUEROA 32 49 60 0 Basalto, Caliza
MARCOS ARSENIO SEVERINO GÓMEZ 0 0 123 0
DEWIL LEONARDO SANTOS 30 30 79 0 Caliza
CONSORCIO TECNOLÓGICO & AMBIENTAL, S. A. 2 8 115 0 Arcillas, Arena Silícea, Cobre, Oro, Plata, Plomo, Zinc
EDIVER ALEXANDRA TAVERAS FABRE 0 0 79 0
FRANK FELIX ORTIZ MARRERO 8 8 70 0 Basalto
Elias Felipe Ciprian Gomez Martinez 0 0 82 0
KATHERINE PEREZ JIMENEZ 40 44 1 0 Caliza, Cobre, Níquel, Oro, Plata, Plomo, Zinc, Cobre, Oro, Plata, Zinc
OCTAVIO JOSÉ LÓPEZ TAVERAS 30 46 15 0 Carbonato de Calcio
GABRIEL ALEXANDER OVIEDO OGANDO 30 30 17 0 Caliza
ROBERTO FRANCISCO MARTE REINOSO 4 4 86 0 Caliza, Mármol
JUAN MARCOS LEDESMA SANTOS 30 30 9 0 Caliza
ALMA JOSE PEREZ BAEZ 0 0 67 0
ROCAS Y MINERALES DOMINICANOS, S.R.L. 1 13 56 0 Agregados, Rocas Volcánicas
MARAT, CONSTRUCCIÓN Y SUPERVISIÓN C. POR A. 9 16 46 0 Caliza, Caliza, Carbonato de Calcio, Yeso
PITER MORA GARCIA 0 7 78 0
YEIMI NOEMI CASILLA SIERRA 0 0 65 0
Pascacio E. Amarante 0 0 54 0
ARMANDO SUAREZ RODRIGUEZ 0 3 62 0

Ranked by press events, granted rights, granted claims and all rights. Every titleholder has a page; this table shows the top of the ranking.

Sources

Dirección General de Minería (FlexiCadastre, ArcGIS REST), Catastro minero: concesiones, solicitudes, denuncias y reservas: 1,093 records, fetched Nov 2, 2026. →

Dirección General de Minería (datos.gob.do), Listado Histórico General de Derechos Mineros 2017-2026 (CSV): 11,103 records, fetched Nov 2, 2026. →

The cadastre is read from the DGM's anonymous ArcGIS REST services (fifteen leaf layers, one request each; the two group layers refuse queries); the claims history from the CSV on datos.gob.do; the press through Google News RSS.