Mining Incidents
Guyana · Country record

The mining record of Guyana

25,287
register properties
3,397
holders
32,223
tenure polygons
123
press-reported deaths (a floor)

25,287 properties in the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission's register, 12,428 of them small-scale claims, held by 3,397 named holders of whom 847 carry a TIN, 32,223 tenure polygons on GGMC's map, and at least 123 mining deaths reported by the Guyanese press.

The Guyana Geology and Mines Commission serves its whole property register through a public search: small-scale claims, mining permits, prospecting permits, special mining permits, prospecting and mining licences and quarry licences, each with its holder, status, grant date, minerals and area; claim rows print each holder's TIN, Guyana's tax id, which no other type does. Its tenure map serves the licence and permit polygons with applicant, acreage and location, and leaves the claims out on purpose. The deaths the press reports are in small and medium-scale alluvial gold and diamond work in the interior backdams and on dredges, which the register covers and the map does not. What no agency publishes is an inspection, a sanction or a per-incident accident record: the Labour Ministry announces one national workplace-death figure a year, and the two dailies report each death within a day, naming the person and the backdam but rarely a permit. The deaths here come from that press, so every count is a floor.

Looking for US mine enforcement instead? See MSHA violations by operator. · Peru's mining record · Brazil's record · The Dominican Republic's record

Get each new Mining Incidents research note by email. One email per note.

What Guyana publishes, and what this page reads
GGMC · Property Status Search
12,428
claims
ⓘ A Claim under the Mining Act 1989 is the small-scale title, typically an alluvial gold or diamond working; the register shows the active ones and prints each holder's TIN.
7,597
mining permits
ⓘ A mining permit (MP) is the medium-scale title; PPMS is its prospecting stage.
4,149
prospecting permits
333
large-scale licences
847
holders with a TIN
ⓘ The TIN is the Guyana Revenue Authority's nine-digit taxpayer identification number; the register prints it only on Claim rows, so a holder's TIN is known only where they hold a claim.

25,287 properties read from the register's search (last refreshed Nov 4, 2026), 3,397 named holders as the register spells them, newest grant Oct 16, 2026. The weekly sync re-reads the current and prior year; the full register is re-read on demand.

GGMC · mineral tenure map
31,519
Mineral licences
ⓘ GGMC's mineral property map, an ArcGIS service refreshed a few times a year; polygons carry applicant, application date, permit type and acreage.
88
Large scale
596
Special mining permits
20
Quarry licences
30,874,051 ac
acres

Licence and permit polygons from GGMC's ArcGIS service, newest application Jul 20, 2026 (last refreshed Nov 4, 2026). The service omits small-scale claims by the publisher's choice; the register has them.

Press · mining deaths, a floor
123
deaths, press floor
ⓘ Counted from press headlines only; Guyana publishes no official per-fatality mining record, so the true number is undoubtedly higher.
158
press-reported accidents
17
backdam or informal
ⓘ Events the headline itself places in a backdam pit, on a dredge or at an unlicensed working, as against a named company's operation.
410
headlines read

English-language headlines naming Guyanese backdams, rivers and regions from 2013 to Jul 15, 2026, read daily through Google News (last pull Nov 3, 2026) and classified by a language model against the headline's own words.

Inspections, sanctions and accidents · none published

GGMC inspects mines and issues cease-work orders after deaths, but publishes no inspection, sanction or accident record; the Ministry of Labour's Occupational Safety and Health Department counts workplace deaths and announces one national figure a year at a press conference (32 in 2024, primarily mining and construction; action taken against one employer), and its website was unreachable on 15 September 2026; the Ministry of Natural Resources posted named fatality releases in 2016 to 2018 and none since. A letter sent to GGMC on September 17, 2026 asks for its mines-inspection reports, fatal-accident investigations and cease-work orders since 2011; the answer is awaited.

Sent September 17, 2026 as a plain letter rather than under the Access to Information Act 2011, which gives the right of access only to citizens and residents and excludes records created before 2011. A reply date appears here when one comes.

Latest press-reported accidents
Jul 15, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
1 killed

“Man killed in freak incident at Morwa Backdam”

Guyana Chronicle →

Jul 14, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Moruca
1 killed

“Moruca man dies in mining camp incident”

News Room Guyana →

Jun 15, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Region 8

“Bodies of dead miners recovered from collapsed mining pit in Region 8”

newssourcegy.com →

Jun 15, 2026 unspecified operation not stated

“Probe launched into fatal accident”

The St Kitts Nevis Observer →

Jun 14, 2026 collapse operation not stated

“Miners trapped in collapsed mining pit”

Demerara Waves Online News- Guyana →

Jun 14, 2026 collapse operation not stated

“Two men trapped in collapsed mining pit”

News Room Guyana →

May 29, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Rupununi
1 killed

“Rupununi resident killed in mining pit cave-in at Chi Chi Backdam”

Guyana Chronicle →

May 28, 2026 collapse operation not stated
1 killed

“Miner dies after pit collapse at Chi Chi Backdam”

News Room Guyana →

Jan 3, 2026 collapse operation not stated
2 killed

“Brazilian miners die in Guyana after pit collapses”

guardian.co.tt →

Jan 2, 2026 collapse operation not stated
(gold)

“Brazilian gold miners die in pit cave-in”

Demerara Waves Online News- Guyana →

Jan 2, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Guyana

“Brazilian miners die in Guyana after pit collapses”

Jamaica Observer →

Jan 2, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Chenapou

“Brazilian miners die in mining pit collapse at Chenapou”

newssourcegy.com →

Every event is one press item read by a language model: the sentence shown is the headline's own words, the holder link exists only where the headline names a register holder exactly, and most Guyanese mining deaths are in backdam pits and dredges the press places by river or region, not by permit.

Press-reported deaths by region
Region Press accidents Deaths (floor)
Mowasi 1 5
Mahdia 4 4
Cuyuni 2 2
Essequibo 2 2
Mazaruni River 2 2
Region Seven 2 2
Thomas Island 2 2
Arakaka 1 1
Bartica 1 1
Cuyuni River 1 1
Frenchman Backdam 1 1
Issano 1 1

By the administrative region or mining district the headline names; the press places a death by backdam, river or region, which the register does not carry, so no region total joins to a permit.

The register by permit type
Type Properties Holders With a TIN
Claim Claim 12,428 880 13,376
Mining permit MP 7,597 1,862 0
Prospecting permit (medium scale) PPMS 4,149 1,121 0
Special mining permit SMP 749 709 0
Prospecting licence PL 328 103 0
Quarry licence QL 31 20 0
Mining licence ML 5 4 0

Claim is the small-scale title (the register's only type that prints a TIN); MP a mining permit, PPMS a medium-scale prospecting permit, SMP a special mining permit, PL and ML the large-scale prospecting and mining licences issued before 2016, QL a quarry licence. The register shows only Active claims and Granted permits.

Areas with the most permits
Area Properties Holders Minerals
Knoawaruk NW 168 130 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +1 more
Kaieteur NE 164 84 Gold, Diamonds, Grantley Crandon, Precious Stones +3 more
Quartz stone SE 134 30 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +3 more
Kaieteur SE 133 70 Gold, Diamonds, Copper, Lithium +6 more
Oranapai NE 131 53 Gold, Diamonds, Cassiterite, Rare Earth Elements +5 more
Quartz stone SW 127 31 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +4 more
Puruni NW 118 21 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +2 more
Aurora NE 111 38 Gold, Diamonds, Cassiterite, Metals +4 more
Oranapai NW 108 54 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +2 more
Puruni NE 108 24 Gold, Diamonds, Rare Earth Elements, Precious Stones +4 more
Kokerite NW 107 39 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +1 more
Supenaam SW 107 34 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +1 more
Kaituma SW 104 26 Gold, Diamonds, Granite, Quarriable Materials +2 more
Matthews Ridge NE 104 42 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +2 more
Kurupung NE 101 27 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones
Knoawaruk SW 100 28 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +2 more
Aurora NW 98 43 Gold, Diamonds, Metals, Precious Stones +3 more
Aurora SE 93 41 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Precious Minerals +1 more
Issano SW 91 31 Gold, Diamonds, Precious Stones, Semi Precious Stones +2 more
Amakura SW 90 50 Gold, Diamonds, Manganese, Other Precious Minerals +4 more

The register's area name (a stock-sheet locality such as Aurora NW or Kaieteur SE), present on about a fifth of rows; claims carry none.

Holders with the most on record
Holder Permits Claims Polygons Press accidents Areas
Alfro Alphonso TIN 143099833 914 252 1,867 0 Amakura SE, Amakura SW, Aurora SE, Aurora SW +20 more
. Ramnarine TIN 116530951 552 404 343 0 Amakura SW, Aurora NE, Ayanganna SE, Barima Head SE +30 more
Shawn Hopkinson TIN 124452553 280 205 565 0 Aurora NE, Aurora SW, Issano NE, Peaima SW +2 more
Ramnarine 5 0 1,265 0
Shreemattie Budhram 146 0 353 0
Michael Vieira TIN 138502227 134 132 341 0 Achiwuib SE, Aurora NE, Ayanganna NE, Issano SW +12 more
Edward Hopkinson 103 0 348 0 Amakura SE, Kaieteur NE, Kaieteur NW, Kaieteur SE +6 more
Stephen Lamazon TIN 160513079 112 8 179 0 Akarabisi NE, Akarabisi NW, Aurora SE, Aurora SW +2 more
Ronaldo Alphonso 107 0 156 0 Akarabisi NE, Oranapai NE, Oranapai SE, Puruni SE +1 more
Randolph Alexander Griffith TIN 128143888 104 82 122 0 Bartica NW, Knoawaruk SE, Kokerite SE, Quartz stone NE +1 more
Hongbo Chu 110 0 103 0 Bartica NW, Bartica SW, Ekereku NE, Ekereku SE +20 more
Raymond Khan TIN 132889710 77 5 213 0 Aurora SE, Bartica NW, Imbaimadai SW, Issano NE +9 more
Bissoondial Mahdu TIN 135721916 92 121 96 0 Bartica NE, Ituni SW, Kaburi NE, Kaburi SE +8 more
Joseph Orlando Adams TIN 108252971 93 27 118 0 Kokerite NE, Kokerite NW, Kokerite SE, Oranapai NE
Carl Adams 83 0 167 0 Tiboku NE, Tiboku NW
Ryan Pereira TIN 132533817 69 201 113 0 Ekereku SW, Imbaimadai NW, Kurupukari NE, Kurupukari NW +5 more
Chunilall Baboolall TIN 143027471 74 82 136 0 Aurora SE, Bartica NW, Knoawaruk NW, Quartz stone SE +2 more
Alfro Alphonso TINO Alfro Alphonso & Sons Enterprises 109 0 4 0 Bartica NE
Donna Lyn Charles 63 0 164 0 Matthews Ridge NW
Donna Charles 73 0 112 0 Kaikan SE, Knoawaruk SE, Kwakwani SW, Matthews Ridge NE +2 more
Correia Mining Company Limited TIN 010069548 55 275 67 0 Kurupung NE, Kurupung SE, Oranapai SW, Peaima NE +1 more
Brock Inc. 54 0 143 0 Ekereku SE, Kokerite NW, Kokerite SW, Waini SW
George Griffith 61 0 90 0 Akarabisi SE, Aurora SW, Bartica NE, Puruni SE +2 more
Azeem Baksh-Snr. 82 0 0 0 Akarabisi NW, Ankoko SE, Aurora NW, Aurora SE +15 more
Azeem Baksh- Snr Baksh Diamond Enterprise/ G-Star Mining 57 0 98 0
Dabria Marcus TIN 132053279 54 5 103 0 Akarabisi NW, Akarabisi SE, Aurora SW, Cuyuni Mining District +12 more
Alfro Alphonso & Sons Enterprise 0 0 312 0
Henry Alphonso 47 0 117 0 Aurora SE, Mazaruni Mining District, Oranapai NW, Oranapai SW +3 more
Deonarine Sookram TIN 143872244 35 216 70 0 Kaieteur NE, Knoawaruk NE, Knoawaruk NW, Knoawaruk SE +1 more
Bryan Stephens 49 0 97 0 Aurora SE, Bartica NW, Quartz stone SW

Ranked by press events, permits, tenure polygons and claims. Every holder has a page; this table shows the top of the ranking, with the TIN where a claim printed it.

Sources

Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (ArcGIS FeatureServer), Mineral_Property_Data_For_Download: Mineral Licences, Large Scale, Special mining permit, Quarry Licences: 12,998 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

Guyana Geology and Mines Commission, Property Status Search (Claim, MP, PPMS, SMP, PL, QL, ML): 25,287 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

The register is read through GGMC's Property Status Search; the map through GGMC's public ArcGIS service (four tenure layers); the press through Google News RSS.