Mining Incidents
Ecuador · Country record

The mining record of Ecuador

5,011
registered concessions
8,384
titleholders
158
press-reported deaths (a floor)

5,011 registered mining concessions held by 8,384 named titleholders in ARCERNNR's cadastre, 145 beneficiation plants keyed by RUC, and at least 158 mining deaths reported by the Ecuadorian press.

ARCERNNR publishes its national cadastre with full history on an open map service, and its beneficiation-plant registry is the one official mining register that carries a RUC, Ecuador's tax id; the SRI answers any RUC, anonymously, with the taxpayer's status and two fraud flags. What no agency publishes is a mining accident or a mining-safety sanction: that power sits with the Ministerio del Trabajo and the IESS under general labour law, and the transparency law does not require publishing sanctions. The deaths here come from Spanish-language press, so every count is a floor; LOTAIP requests filed on September 17, 2026 ask for the records that would replace it.

Looking for US mine enforcement instead? See MSHA violations by operator. · Peru's mining record · Colombia's record · Argentina's record

Get each new Mining Incidents research note by email. One email per note.

What Ecuador publishes, and what this page reads
ARCERNNR · national cadastre
5,011
registered concessions
ⓘ INSCRITA in ARCERNNR's cadastre: a concession registered in the mining register and in force; TRAMITE is an application in process and ARCHIVADA a title that ended or was denied.
1,287
in process
9,157
archived
ⓘ The cadastre keeps every title it ever carried; most archived rows are old concessions that ended, were renounced or were denied.
1,515,276 ha
registered area

Every concession the cadastre has ever carried, synced weekly from ARCERNNR's map service (last refreshed Nov 1, 2026; the layer's own newest update stamp is Oct 26, 2026). 8,384 named titleholders, as the cadastre spells them.

ARCERNNR · beneficiation plants
145
plants
ⓘ A planta de beneficio processes ore for one or many mines; ARCERNNR's registry gives its titular, RUC, capacity in tonnes a day and whether it sits inside a concession.
142
with a RUC
54,917 t/d
capacity

Ore-processing plants with the titular's RUC, capacity and status, from a registry whose newest grant date is 2017 (last refreshed Nov 1, 2026).

SRI · taxpayer status for every plant RUC
92
RUCs looked up
ⓘ The Servicio de Rentas Internas answers any RUC anonymously with the taxpayer's status (active, suspended, passive), activity, regime and dates.
65
active
10
suspended
0
flagged
ⓘ The SRI flags a RUC as a contribuyente fantasma when it deems the taxpayer to exist only on paper, and for transacciones inexistentes when it deems invoices fictitious. The SRI's determination, shown as published.

154 titleholders carry a RUC learned from a plant or an SRI record that names them exactly; 6 plant RUCs are unknown to the SRI (last refreshed Nov 1, 2026).

Press · mining deaths, a floor
158
deaths, press floor
ⓘ Counted from press headlines only; Ecuador publishes no official per-fatality mining record, so the true number is undoubtedly higher.
198
press-reported accidents
613
headlines read

Spanish-language headlines naming Ecuadorian places from 1970 to Oct 20, 2026, read daily through Google News (last pull Nov 4, 2026) and classified by a language model against the headline's own words.

Accidents and sanctions · on request

ARCERNNR publishes administrative resolutions, never sanctions; mine-safety penalties are imposed by the Ministerio del Trabajo and the IESS under general labour law and are not broken out by sector; the ministry's press feed names a mine only for large events. Three LOTAIP requests were filed on September 17, 2026: ARCERNNR's accident and safety findings by concession, the Ministerio del Trabajo's mining inspections, sanctions and fatal-accident notifications, and the IESS's work-accident notifications by employer RUC.

Filed September 17, 2026 by email to the Agencia de Regulación y Control Minero, the Ministerio del Trabajo and the IESS (Riesgos del Trabajo). The IESS answered on October 12, 2026 with its fatal work-accident notices and glosas for 2017 to 2026, shown below. The other two answers appear here when they arrive.

Fatal work accidents in mining · according to the IESS's answer to our request
55
Deaths in mining
ⓘ Survivor-pension (montepío) cases on each notice. Every one is a work accident; the answer covers 2017 to 2026 only.
47
Fatal-accident notices
ⓘ Notices at 31 employers that IESS files under its mining branch and we classify as mining. Oil and gas employers are counted apart.
6
Glosas to mining employers
ⓘ US$393,150 in total, every one marked paid (Cancelada). A glosa is IESS's charge to the employer after its committee rules the employer liable. A death with no glosa may still be undecided; it is not a finding of no fault.

According to the IESS's answer to our request (memo IESS-DSGRT-2026-1814-M of October 12, 2026), it recorded 47 fatal work-accident notices at mining employers between 2017 and 2026, covering 55 deaths, and issued 6 glosas to mining employers totalling US$393,150.

Year Notices Deaths
2017 7 9
2018 9 10
2019 7 10
2020 2 2
2021 2 2
2022 6 8
2023 3 3
2024 5 5
2025 5 5
2026 1 1
Province Notices Deaths
El Oro 25 32
Azuay 13 14
Zamora Chinchipe 3 3
Pichincha 2 2
Cañar 1 1
Carchi 1 1
Imbabura 1 1
Loja 1 1

IESS files oil and gas under its mining branch; we read each employer and count only mining here, so 11 notices at oil and gas or unplaced employers are left out. Provinces are as IESS printed them. Totals only; no notice-level rows are published here. Received Oct 14, 2026.

Latest press-reported accidents
Oct 20, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Ponce Enríquez
2 killed

“Lluvias en Ponce Enríquez: dos trabajadores mueren sepultados por un derrumbe”

El Mercurio →

Oct 19, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Ponce Enriquez
2 killed

“Dos fallecidos por deslizamiento de tierra en Ponce Enriquez”

El Comercio →

Oct 19, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Camilo Ponce Enríquez, Azuay
2 killed

“Dos trabajadores fallecidos deja un deslizamiento por lluvias en una mina de Camilo Ponce Enríquez, Azuay”

Primicias →

Oct 19, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Azuay
2 killed

“Lluvias en Ecuador: dos obreros mueren sepultados por un deslizamiento en una mina de Azuay”

Ecuavisa →

Oct 19, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Azuay
2 killed

“Lluvias en Ecuador: dos obreros murieron sepultados por un deslizamiento en Azuay”

expreso.ec →

Oct 5, 2026 explosion operation not stated
Zaruma

“Suspenden indefinidamente actividades en mina de Zaruma, por explosión”

Vistazo →

Aug 12, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Zamora
2 killed

“Dos mineros murieron por deslizamiento de tierra en Zamora”

ecuador221.com.ec →

Aug 11, 2026 unspecified artisanal or informal
Pucará
8 killed

“ocho fallecidos en mina ilegal de Pucará”

elmercurio.com.ec →

Aug 11, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Zamora Chinchipe (oro)
2 killed

“Deslizamiento en mina de oro de Zamora Chinchipe deja dos muertos y maquinaria sepultada”

Primicias →

Aug 11, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Zamora Chinchipe
2 killed

“Deslizamiento en Zamora Chinchipe deja dos mineros fallecidos”

Ecuavisa →

Aug 11, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Zamora Chinchipe
2 killed

“Deslizamiento en Zamora Chinchipe deja dos personas fallecidas en una mina”

El Comercio →

Aug 11, 2026 collapse operation not stated
Zamora
2 killed

“Dos muertos por deslizamiento en zona minera de Zamora”

El Universo →

Each row is one headline as an outlet published it, classified and extracted by a language model from the headline and snippet only; several outlets reporting one accident appear as several rows. Press reports, never an official record.

By province
Province Registered In process Archived Plants Deaths (floor)
ZAMORA CHINCHIPE 1,019 133 1,676 1 7
AZUAY 483 190 798 62 16
LOJA 458 43 1,071 0 0
EL ORO 449 102 960 82 6
MORONA SANTIAGO 383 192 816 0 0
GUAYAS 302 84 314 0 0
COTOPAXI 189 15 279 0 0
NAPO 189 36 373 0 0
SUCUMBIOS 175 73 327 0 0
PICHINCHA 164 24 228 0 0
CHIMBORAZO 149 16 294 0 0
ESMERALDAS 135 52 317 0 10
IMBABURA 127 26 175 0 1
MANABI 124 48 80 0 0
CAÑAR 95 48 142 0 0

Concessions by status per province, plants by their registered province, and press deaths by the province in the headline.

Registered concessions by regime
Regime Registered Hectares
No regime recorded 2,759 27,401
Small-scale mining 1,675 420,904
Large-scale mining 246 796,619
General regime 214 137,246
Medium-scale mining 117 133,106

The cadastre's regime (small, medium, large-scale mining, or the general regime) on registered concessions; older archived titles mostly carry none.

Titleholders with the most on record
Holder Registered Plants Press accidents SRI status Provinces
MINISTERIO DE TRANSPORTE Y OBRAS PUBLICAS 83 0 0 AZUAY, BOLIVAR, CAÑAR, CARCHI, CHIMBORAZO, COTOPAXI, EL ORO, ESMERALDAS, GUAYAS, IMBABURA, LOJA, LOS RIOS, MANABI, MORONA SANTIAGO, NAPO, ORELLANA, PICHINCHA, SANTA ELENA, SANTO DOMINGO DE LOS TSACHILAS, SUCUMBIOS, TUNGURAHUA, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
ECUASOLIDUS S.A. 42 0 0 MORONA SANTIAGO
FUENLABRADA CIA. LTDA. 45 0 0 AZUAY, CAÑAR, CHIMBORAZO, COTOPAXI, EL ORO, GUAYAS, MORONA SANTIAGO, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
GOBIERNO AUTONOMO DESCENTRALIZADO PROVINCIAL DE PASTAZA 39 0 0 PASTAZA
EMPRESA NACIONAL MINERA ENAMI EP 33 0 0 AZUAY, BOLIVAR, CARCHI, CHIMBORAZO, COTOPAXI, ESMERALDAS, IMBABURA, PICHINCHA, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
GOBIERNO PROVINCIAL DE LOS RIOS 25 0 0 LOS RIOS
GOBIERNO AUTONOMO DESCENTRALIZADO PROVINCIAL DE SUCUMBIOS 23 0 0 SUCUMBIOS
CRUZ DEL SOL CSSA S.A. 25 0 0 CAÑAR, MORONA SANTIAGO, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
GREEN ROCK RESOURCES GRR SA 23 0 0 AZUAY, CAÑAR, CHIMBORAZO, LOJA, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
UNION CEMENTERA NACIONAL UCEM SA 25 0 0 MORONA SANTIAGO
VALLE RICO RESOURCES VRR SA 19 0 0 BOLIVAR, COTOPAXI, ESMERALDAS, LOS RIOS, PICHINCHA, SANTO DOMINGO DE LOS TSACHILAS
GAD PROVINCIAL DE NAPO 17 0 0 NAPO
GOBIERNO AUTONOMO DESCENTRALIZADO DE LA PROVINCIAL DE ZAMORA CHINCHIPE 20 0 0 ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
GOBIERNO AUTONOMO DESCENTRALIZADO DE LA PROVINCIA DE ESMERALDAS 15 0 0 ESMERALDAS
GAD DE LA PROVINCIA DE MORONA SANTIAGO 13 0 0 MORONA SANTIAGO
COMPANIA DE INVESTIGACION Y EXPLOTACION MINERA EXPLOMINAS S.A. 21 0 0 AZUAY, BOLIVAR, CHIMBORAZO, MORONA SANTIAGO, NAPO, PASTAZA
GAD PROVINCIAL DE PICHINCHA 19 0 0 PICHINCHA, SANTO DOMINGO DE LOS TSACHILAS
GOBIERNO PROVINCIAL DE MANABI 15 0 0 MANABI
EXPORTADORA AURIFERA S.A. EXPAUSA 15 0 0 AZUAY, CAÑAR, CHIMBORAZO, EL ORO, ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
GOBIERNO AUTONOMO DESCENTRALIZADO PROVINCIA DE ORELLANA 13 0 0 ORELLANA
JESUS DEL GRAN PODER RUC 0702427006001 0 4 0 active
UNION CEMENTERA NACIONAL UCEM S A 18 0 0 CHIMBORAZO, COTOPAXI, GUAYAS, MORONA SANTIAGO, NAPO, TUNGURAHUA
AURELIANMENOR S.A. 16 0 0 ZAMORA CHINCHIPE
ECOLUXEN S.A. RUC 0992764249001 11 1 0 EL ORO
COMPAÑIA MILROMER S.A. 16 0 0 AZUAY, COTOPAXI, EL ORO

Ranked by press events, plants, registered concessions and all concessions. Every titular has a page; this table shows the top of the ranking, with the SRI's status where a RUC is known.

Sources

ARCERNNR (Agencia de Regulación y Control de Energía y Recursos Naturales No Renovables), Catastro Minero Nacional (ArcGIS REST): 15,491 records, fetched Nov 1, 2026. →

ARCERNNR (Agencia de Regulación y Control de Energía y Recursos Naturales No Renovables), Plantas de Beneficio (ArcGIS REST): 145 records, fetched Nov 1, 2026. →

Instituto Ecuatoriano de Seguridad Social (IESS), memo IESS-DSGRT-2026-1814-M, Employer-liability glosas, mining branch (CSV), mailed 2026-10-14: 6 records, fetched Oct 14, 2026. →

Instituto Ecuatoriano de Seguridad Social (IESS), memo IESS-DSGRT-2026-1814-M, Fatal work-accident notices, mining branch, 2017 to 2026 (CSV), mailed 2026-10-14: 58 records, fetched Oct 14, 2026. →

The cadastre and the plant registry are read from ARCERNNR's ArcGIS REST services; the SRI through its public taxpayer lookup; the press through Google News RSS.