Mining Incidents
Honduras · Country record

The mining record of Honduras

175
concessions in the 2026 cadastre
122
holders
701
dated records 1938-2021
28
press-reported deaths (a floor)

175 concessions in INHGEOMIN's 2026 cadastre, 87 of them at the exploitation stage, held by 122 named concessionaires; 701 dated records back to 1938 in the 2020 layer; and at least 28 mining deaths reported by the Honduran press.

The Instituto Hondureño de Geología y Minas publishes no data on its own site; its cadastre is served instead by a GeoServer at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras, open to anyone, as a family of yearly layers. The 2026 layer says who holds what today: holder, stage (explore or exploit), class and hectares. The 2020 layer says since when and for what: registration dates back to El Mochito's 1938 grant, minerals, municipalities and departments, including the artisanal and small-mining classes the later layers drop. A departmental employment layer is the only denominator. No layer carries an RTN, Honduras's tax id, so holders are matched by name only. What no agency publishes is an inspection, a sanction or an accident record: the deaths here come from Spanish-language press, which names the mine (El Mochito, El Corpus) often enough to join a formal-mine death to its operator, so every count is a floor.

Looking for US mine enforcement instead? See MSHA violations by operator. · Mexico's record · Colombia's record · The Dominican Republic's record

Get each new Mining Incidents research note by email. One email per note.

What Honduras publishes, and what this page reads
INHGEOMIN · current cadastre (2026 layer)
87
exploitation
ⓘ The current layer's estado is the stage: Explotar (a mining concession) or Explorar (an exploration concession); it does not say whether the title is granted or applied for.
88
exploration
41
metallic
102,758 ha
hectares

175 concessions and applications held by 122 named concessionaires in the Catastro_Minero_2026 layer (last refreshed Nov 4, 2026), synced weekly; the layer carries no dates, no minerals and no place, which the 2020 layer supplies where the code and name match.

INHGEOMIN · dated cadastre (2020 and 2023 layers)
701
dated records
ⓘ A row in the Concesiones_Mineras_2020 layer, the only one with registration dates, minerals and places; its 950 features fold to about 700 records because a multi-part polygon repeats its code.
408
holders
27
artisanal class
ⓘ Rows the 2020 layer classes Artesanal Metálica or Artesanal No Metálica: concessions held by artisanal miners' groups, the closest thing Honduras publishes to an artisanal register.
246
records in the 2023 layer

Registration dates from 1938 to Jan 7, 2021, minerals, municipalities and departments, from the Concesiones_Mineras_2020 layer (last refreshed Nov 4, 2026); the 2023 layer adds a stage and a department to the years between.

Press · mining deaths, a floor
28
deaths, press floor
ⓘ Counted from press headlines only; Honduras publishes no official per-fatality mining record, so the true number is undoubtedly higher.
143
press-reported accidents
6
artisanal or informal
ⓘ Events the headline itself places in an artisanal, informal or illegal working (güiriseros), as against a named company's mine.
324
headlines read

Spanish-language headlines naming Honduran mines and places from 2014 to Oct 26, 2026, read daily through Google News (last pull Nov 4, 2026) and classified by a language model against the headline's own words.

What INHGEOMIN withholds

INHGEOMIN publishes no inspections, sanctions or accidents, and the Secretaría de Trabajo and the IHSS publish none either. Asked under the Ley de Transparencia y Acceso a la Información Pública, INHGEOMIN delivered its inspection register and its resolutions file (both below) and refused its accident register, and its reports on El Mochito in 2024, in these words:

“Conforme al Artículo 53 literal h) de la Ley General de Minería, además de los artículos 46 y 47 en sus numerales 2 de Exploración y 4 de Explotación, esta información gozará de confidencialidad.”

Its MAPE coordination says its database records no accident, death or injury in artisanal or illegal mining. Its Unidad de Desarrollo Social keeps no accident register for bancos de préstamo. For San Juan Arriba, El Corpus (2014), it points to the Ministerio Público, COPECO and the Secretaría de Seguridad.

Filed September 17, 2026 by email to INHGEOMIN; answered in part on October 2, 2026 (memoranda UT-402 to UT-405-2026).

INHGEOMIN's inspection register, by mine and year

308 inspection reports at 15 mines, 2014 to 2026, delivered on October 2, 2026 by INHGEOMIN's Unidad de Ambiente y Seguridad in answer to our request. 278 carry a concession code that is in the cadastre; 30 do not.

Mine Reports Reports per year
San Andres (45) 66 2014: 4, 2015: 6, 2016: 6, 2017: 3, 2018: 7, 2019: 6, 2020: 2, 2021: 6, 2022: 6, 2023: 6, 2024: 5, 2025: 7, 2026: 2
Clavo Rico (8) 60 2014: 4, 2015: 6, 2016: 5, 2017: 4, 2018: 6, 2019: 6, 2020: 2, 2021: 4, 2022: 5, 2023: 5, 2024: 5, 2025: 5, 2026: 3
Mochito (3) 57 2014: 4, 2015: 6, 2016: 1, 2017: 5, 2018: 6, 2019: 4, 2020: 1, 2021: 4, 2022: 7, 2023: 6, 2024: 5, 2025: 5, 2026: 3
Macuelizo (67) 41 2014: 3, 2015: 4, 2016: 3, 2017: 4, 2018: 3, 2019: 2, 2020: 1, 2021: 3, 2022: 4, 2023: 3, 2024: 4, 2025: 5, 2026: 2
Monte Redondo (98) 21 2014: 3, 2015: 3, 2016: 3, 2017: 2, 2018: 2, 2019: 1, 2022: 1, 2023: 2, 2024: 1, 2025: 1, 2026: 2
Asp (543) 10 2018: 1, 2021: 2, 2022: 2, 2023: 3, 2024: 2
Cobra Oro (2) 9 2018: 1, 2019: 2, 2021: 1, 2025: 2, 2026: 3
Morelia (310) 9 2014: 2, 2018: 1, 2022: 1, 2024: 2, 2025: 1, 2026: 2
El Venado (435) 8 2014: 1, 2017: 1, 2021: 1, 2022: 2, 2023: 2, 2024: 1
Aguila Dorada (7) 6 2021: 1, 2025: 2, 2026: 3
Anona Gold (14) 6 2025: 3, 2026: 3
Raptor Mining 5 2025: 2, 2026: 3
Sapadril (215) 5 2022: 1, 2023: 2, 2024: 1, 2025: 1
Raptor Mining (4) 4 2018: 1, 2019: 2, 2021: 1
San Martín (99) 1 2018: 1

Each row is a report code, the mine, its concession code and the dates of the visit. The register has no findings or result column, so a row shows that a visit happened, not what it found. It covers the large concessions only. The rows are transcribed by hand from a scan, with dates and codes as printed.

Secretaría General resolutions on concessions

78 resolutions, 2018 to 2026, from INHGEOMIN's Secretaría General in the same answer. 57 carry a concession code that is in the cadastre; 21 do not.

Cancellation (mostly for unpaid canon or DAC)71
Administrative sanction4
Suspension of activities2
Reactivation of activities1

Every resolution that is not a cancellation, as printed:

Date Zone Cause Status Resolution
21/02/19 El Mochito (03) Sanción Administrativa Vigente 34/2019
04/11/2021 ASP 2 (544) Sanción Administrativa Cancelado 218/2021
01/08/2023 Guasistagua II (247) Sanción Administrativa Vigente 93/2023
09/05/2024 Sapadril (215) Suspensión de activades Vigente 151/2024
27/01/2025 Sapadril (215) Reactivación de actividades Vigente 30/2025
22/05/2025 Clavo Rico (03) Suspensión de activades vigente 137/2025
7/09/2026 San Judas (17) Sanción Administrativa Vigente 161/2026

Cause and status are INHGEOMIN's own words. The file gives no fine amounts and no grounds for the sanctions. One row prints Clavo Rico under El Mochito's code 03; it links to neither holder.

Latest press-reported accidents
Oct 26, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Hondureño pierde la vida en una mina de Santa Bárbara”

oncenoticias.hn →

Oct 26, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“minero muere en accidente laboral en Santa Bárbara”

TuNota →

Oct 26, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
El Mochito, Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Hombre muere al interior de una mina en El Mochito, Santa Bárbara”

ElHeraldo.hn →

Oct 26, 2026 collapse operation not stated
El Mochito, Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Minero muere soterrado en El Mochito, Santa Bárbara”

www.laprensa.hn →

Oct 26, 2026 unspecified operation not stated
El Mochito, Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Muere un minero en El Mochito, Santa Bárbara”

Diario Tiempo de Honduras →

Oct 11, 2026 collapse operation not stated

“Incertidumbre en rescate de dos mineros en Honduras”

www.laprensa.hn →

Jun 7, 2026 collapse operation not stated
El Corpus, Choluteca
1 killed

“Minero muere soterrado en El Corpus, Choluteca”

LaPrensa.hn →

Apr 23, 2024 unspecified company operation
El Mochito · Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Joven pierde la vida al interior de la mina “El Mochito” en Santa Bárbara”

ElHeraldo.hn →

Apr 23, 2024 unspecified company operation
El Mochito · Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Minero muere repentinamente cuando laboraba en mina El Mochito en Santa Bárbara”

radiohrn.hn →

Apr 23, 2024 unspecified company operation
El Mochito · Las Vegas, Santa Bárbara
1 killed

“Trabajador muere dentro de la mina El Mochito, en Las Vegas, Santa Bárbara”

LaPrensa.hn →

Apr 3, 2022 collapse operation not stated
El Corpus

“Reanudan labores de búsqueda de los mineros atrapados en El Corpus”

ElHeraldo.hn →

Apr 2, 2022 collapse operation not stated

“Persiste búsqueda de ocho mineros atrapados”

ElHeraldo.hn →

Every event is one press item read by a language model: the sentence shown is the headline's own words, the holder link exists only where the headline names a cadastre concessionaire exactly, and a death at a named mine (El Mochito) joins while a death in an artisanal working (El Corpus, San Juan Arriba) does not.

The 2026 cadastre by class and stage
Class Stage Concessions Holders Hectares
No Metálica exploit 75 66 23,954
No Metálica explore 59 36 15,710
Metálica explore 29 15 30,030
Metálica exploit 12 12 33,064

Class (metallic or non-metallic) and stage (explore or exploit) as the current layer prints them; the 2020 layer's finer classes (small mining, artisanal, banco de préstamo) are on the holder pages.

By department
Department Concessions Holders Mining jobs Deaths (floor)
Olancho 129 63 457 0
Choluteca 106 52 900 5
Cortes 84 71 360 0
Santa Barbara 56 47 1,258 0
Comayagua 52 35 270 0
Francisco Morazan 52 40 994 0
El Paraiso 37 25 258 0
Colon 23 20 203 0
Yoro 20 18 108 0
Atlantida 17 11 95 0
Copan 14 7 501 0
Valle 14 9 378 6
Lempira 10 8 47 0
El Paraíso 8 3 – 0
Ocotepeque 8 7 41 0
Francisco Morazán 7 4 – 0
Copan Y Lempira 5 5 – 0
Santa Bárbara 5 5 – 5
Santa Barbara Y Lempira 5 4 – 0
Yoro Y Cortes 5 4 – 0

Dated concessions from the 2020 layer by department (the current layer carries none), mining employment from the UNAH employment layer, and press deaths by the department in the headline.

Minerals on dated concessions
Commodity Concessions Holders
Dentrítico 97 78
Oro 85 48
Óxido de Hierro 29 22
Cobre 22 9
Plata 21 16
Caliza 18 18
Basalto 13 12
Puzolana 12 9
Yeso 10 10
Toba 7 6
Antimonio 6 5
Mármol 5 5
Arcillas 2 2
Detrítico 2 2

Each mineral the 2020 layer names on a concession, counted once per concession; a concession naming five minerals counts under each.

Concessionaires with the most on record
Concessionaire 2026 cadastre Dated records Press accidents Minerals Departments
Galsa, S. de R.L 10 3 0 Dentrítico Choluteca
Dise�os Y Construcciones Sandoval (DICONSSA) 10 0 0
Argos Honduras S. A. DE C.V 6 1 0 Comayagua
Grupo Olancho Recursos S. de R.L 5 5 0 Oro Olancho
Golden Spark, S.A 5 4 0 Olancho
Minera Sierra Verde S. de R.L 4 4 0 Oro y Plata; Oro, Cobre Lempira Y Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara Y Lempira
Minerales de Occidente S.A. de C.V 3 5 0 Oro, Plata Copan
Ercome S.A 3 4 0 Basalto; Dentrítico; Toba y Basalto Cortes, Cortes Y Santa Barbara
Productora de Agregados y Derivados de Concreto S.A. de C.V 3 3 0 Dentrítico Cortes, Francisco Morazan
Asociaci�n de Balastreros y Constructores de Atl�ntida "ABACTLAN" 3 0 0
Empresa Minera La Victoria S.A. DE C.V 2 6 0 Óxido de Hierro Atlantida, Olancho
Five Stars Mining, S.A de C.V 2 4 0 Óxido de Hierro; Puzolana; Yeso Francisco Morazan
Barro Mining S.A de C.V 2 3 0 Oro, Plata y Cobre; Oro, Plata, Cobre El Paraiso
CONHSA PAYHSA S.A. de C.V 2 3 0 Dentrítico Cortes
Canteras de Honduras S.A. de C.V 2 2 0 Basalto y Andesita; Dentrítico Cortes, Francisco Morazan
Harry Stephen Panting Zelaya 2 2 0 Dentrítico; Óxido de Hierro Cortes
Inversiones Mineras Lara 2 2 0 Antimonio Olancho
Jose Gabriel Duarte 2 2 0 Toba Cortes
Minas Azules, S. de R.L 2 2 0 Oro, Cobre Lempira, Santa Barbara Y Lempira
Alquileres de Maquinaria Pesada y de Agricultura Midence 2 0 0
MINERALES Y TRITURADO ODESSA,S.A. DE C.V 2 0 0
Green Global Investment S.A 1 6 0 Oro; Oro, Plata Choluteca, El Paraiso Y Olancho, Olancho, Valle
Minas y Extracciones S.A. de C.V 1 6 0 Óxido de Hierro Colon, Copan, Yoro
Constructora y Transportes Mary S. de R.L. de C.V 1 4 0 Santa Barbara, Santa Bárbara
Infraestructura y Servicios Publicos "INSEP" 0 14 0 Choluteca, Comayagua, Copan, Cortes, El Paraiso, El Paraíso, Lempira, Lempira, Copan, Santa Barbara
American Pacific Honduras S.A 1 3 0 Oro, Plata, Plomo, Óxido de Hierro y Cobre Choluteca, Santa Barbara
Profesionales de la Construccion S.A. de C.V. (PRODECON) 1 3 0 Dentrítico Cortes, Francisco Morazan
SOCIEDAD MERCANTIL MAQUINARIA Y PROYECTOS S.A. (MYPSA) 1 3 0 Dentrítico El Paraiso, Francisco Morazan
Cementos del Norte S.A 1 2 0 Caliza Cortes
Jorge Alberto Salguero Barrera 1 2 0 Ocotepeque

Ranked by press events, current concessions and dated records. Every concessionaire has a page; this table shows the top of the ranking.

Sources

Instituto Hondureño de Geología y Minas (INHGEOMIN), Resoluciones de la Secretaría General sobre concesiones mineras, 2018 a 2026 (entregadas por solicitud de información pública): 78 records, fetched Oct 2, 2026. →

Instituto Hondureño de Geología y Minas (INHGEOMIN), Registro de informes de inspección de la Unidad de Ambiente y Seguridad, 2014 a 2026 (entregado por solicitud de información pública): 308 records, fetched Oct 2, 2026. →

INHGEOMIN cadastre on the UNAH GeoServer (territoriosenriesgo.unah.edu.hn, WFS), Catastro_Minero_2023: 246 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

INHGEOMIN cadastre on the UNAH GeoServer (territoriosenriesgo.unah.edu.hn, WFS), Catastro_Minero_2026: 175 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

INHGEOMIN cadastre on the UNAH GeoServer (territoriosenriesgo.unah.edu.hn, WFS), Concesiones_Mineras_2020: 701 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

UNAH GeoServer (territoriosenriesgo.unah.edu.hn, WFS), empleo_energia_mineria: 18 records, fetched Nov 4, 2026. →

All layers are read from the UNAH GeoServer; the press through Google News RSS. The weekly read also checks for a new cadastre year.